Canadian Emergency Room

I’ve been so overwhelmed with stress and exhaustion that I haven’t written in awhile. I have very much avoided commenting on the so-called health care debate in the US.

On my view, there is no real debate. It is Big Pharma, Big Insurance and the AMA placing a strangle-hold on any chance the average American will get to have reasonable healthcare. I don’t know what the heck “the public option” is – who we are talking about here.

I live in Canada now and the other night I collapsed. I say that because I want you to know that within 5 minutes the paramedics were here, took me to the ER, got me conscious again and after a long IV drip – sent me on my way. Didn’t cost me a dime. Now I know there are pros and cons on both sides of the border, but as I was lying there feeling woozy staring at the ceiling, I thought “Wow, what are Americans thinking? Don’t they want healthcare? They’re paying for it in beyond reasonable amounts anyway.” As an American, I just hate to see people doing without healthcare because politicians, Media and other people seeking their 15 minutes.

And after my experience the other night, I just had to stand up against the horrible bashing that Canadian healthcare has had to weather. And the terrible cost it will continue to be for my brothers and sister south of the border.

~ by Thom on August 23, 2009.

5 Responses to “Canadian Emergency Room”

  1. THOM – I hope you are feeling better and are O.K. now!!

    I wonder if you saw John Aravosis’ post about his experience in France (gasp! – the commie bastards!!!)

    from – Tuesday, July 21, 2009
    My whopping $32 emergency room visit in the land of socialized medicine.

    http://www.americablog.com/2009/07/my-whopping-32-emergency-room-visit-in.html

    He pretty much, like you, make the U.S. system look pathetically immoral and corrupt.

    • Thanks, John. I am still laying low. My partner checked out the Aravosis’ post and told me about it. When I have a moment, I’ll read it. Thanks for the kind thoughts, thom

  2. […] Canadian Emergency Room – Thom Vernon […]

  3. Hope you’re doing better! Get lots of rest.

  4. THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM NEEDS REAL CONTINUAL IMPROVEMENT
    http://thenonconformer.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
