What It Took to Vote

The President’s re-election means that we are one step closer to taking our place at the table. Can you imagine? Vajdon and me able to come to the U.S. as a family? Maybe, someday. In the meantime…

My voting materials came: sample ballot and so other materials. Even the pink envelope to mail it in was there. But no ballot. Surely that’s coming. Weeks passed. I said on FB, I’d done my research and yadda yadda. Thinking it was coming. 3 weeks ago. I checked again. No ballot. Under my desk. In every place it could possibly be. 

I called the LA registrars office. They were going to send another. Another pkg came. No ballot!

I emailed, I called. Nada. I surrendered. Thinking I wouldn’t be able to vote. 

Then, I woke up last week. Thought: the U.S. Consulate. Maybe they’ve got a ballot lying around. There, on the website, was a link for fvap.com. I could vote online, email the materials and print. I did that. So so grateful. 

I then printed the materials. I express-mailed them to the Registrar’s office. Then, they sent an email saying I needed to fax the signed permission form. I high-tailed it to Staples and faxed that sucker. 

I had done what I could to vote. That was nothing, my friends, to what those in FL, OH and in the Northeast have unreasonably and horribly had to endure to cast theirs. I am so so proud to have witnessed that.

~ by Thom on November 7, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
