2012 with a Bang!

2012 is starting out with a bang!  As I have moved from the active promotion of The Drifts book, I am in rehearsal and pre-production for a staged version of excerpts from the book. I will be doing 5 shows at The Complex in Hollywood, CA June 8-9 (previews) and June 14-16 (peformances) as part of The Hollywood Fringe. Shortly, I will put up a link to our Kickstarter campaign where you can support this exciting project and earn rewards.

You can learn about screenwriting courses that I currently teach at the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies here.

2012 also sees me finishing up another literary novel and seeking representation for a murder mystery/suspense novel, Buried Hearts, in which Jocelyn Sloan, a Chicago homicide detective is forced to dig into the suspicious death of her parents while confronting the killer who she has, unwittingly, inspired.

Also this year will see the publication of two scholarly chapters. The Angel at Our Table: Brooding, Benjamin and the Art of Melancholy to be published shortly in Food and Art (Cambridge Scholars’ Press,UK, 2012); and Selling It: Creative Writing, Neo-liberalism and the Public Good in The Creativity Market: Trendsin Creative Writing in the 21st Century (Multilingual Matters: New Writing Series, 2012).The first articulates the critical origins of The Drifts while the second tracks the role that creative writing has in the public good. I will be presenting on creative writing and the public good at the Canadian Creative Writers and Writing Programs (CCWWP) conference in May here in Toronto. Just before that, in April, I have been invited to read, panel and lead workshops at the Arkansas Literary Festival in Little Rock. Sometime in May I will go to Thailand to act in a German film playing “The Australian” for the Berlin director, Susanna Salonen. Lastly, I will (fingers crossed) receive my TESOL certification in May or June so that I can teach English anywhere in the world.

You can read my Huffington Post articles and/or connect with me at Facebook/thedrifts page or follow me at twitter.com/thomvernon.

~ by Thom on January 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
