Vermont: Affirming to Peck On

Just had an inspiring conference, 1-1 with fictionalist Michael Martone. He’s up here from down in Tuscaloosa. I’d sent him a little bit of the bit I’m poking around at. He got it. Could see the actor, the way objects and sensuality hold emotion (a la Benjamin’s trace) and affirmed my use of second person, for a second time in a novel, to get at that dislocation/displacement of characters. While I wouldn’t say I know any more of what I’m dong, per se, I am inspired to keep pecking away some.  Thanks, Michael.

 

~ by Thom on March 19, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
